Tag Archives: Tagus

Castilla-La Mancha

CASTILLA-LA MANCHA Autonomous Community in central Spain, its territory forming part of the Meseta, the great plateau of central Spain.   La Mancha, made famous by Cervantes, is a plateau in the south of the region.  In the northwest is the … Continue reading

Posted in Spain | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Castelo Branco

CASTELO BRANCO Inland district in central Portugal, bordering on Spain and lying north of the Tejo (Tagus).   It is named after its capital.   Before 1833 it was part of the province of Beira.

Posted in Portugal, Spain | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Alto Alentejo

ALTO ALENTEJO Upper Alentejo.   New Portuguese province during the Salzarist era, lying south of the Tagus, in the lands of the districts of Portalegre and Evora, which continued to function as administrative areas.   It was formed from the north of … Continue reading

Posted in Portugal | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment


ALENTEJO    Or, ALEMTEJO. Old province in the south, though not the far south, of Portugal;  its name means beyond the Tejo (Tagus);  it was sometimes called Entre Tejo e Guadiana (i.e. between those two rivers).   Between the 1130s and 1230s … Continue reading

Posted in Portugal | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment