Map of France showing Creuse highlighted at the centre.

The Département de la Creuse (23) is in the northwest of the Massif Central in south central France. The River Creuse, a tributary of the Vienne, flows NNW through the department.

It was formed in 1790 from most of La Marche and parts of Berry, Bourbonnais, Limousin and Poitou.

The Creuse was in unoccupied France, 1940-2. In 1941 the Vichy government placed it under the authority of the Regional Prefect at Limoges for police and economic matters,

Since 1960 it has been in the northeast of the Limousin region.

The capital is Guéret. The sub-prefecture for the other arrondissement is Aubusson (in the southeast). Bourganeuf (southwest) and Boussac (northeast) were also sub-prefectures, 1800-1926.

In 1790 Guéret, never before an episcopal see, became the diocese that covered the new department, but in 1802 its territory was added to the diocese of Limoges.

This entry was posted in France and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s