CÔTE-D’OR  The Département de la Côte-d’Or (21) is in east central France.

It was formed in 1790 from the northern part of Burgundy, and named after a range of hills. It is one of the principal wine districts of France.

The department was in occupied France, 1940-4. In 1941 the Vichy government placed it and four other departments under the authority of the Regional Prefect at Dijon, its capital, for police and economic matters.

It has been in the Bourgogne region since 1960.

The capital is Dijon. The sub-prefectures for the other arrondissements are or have been Beaune (in the south) and Montbard (northwest). The latter lay between Châtillon-sur-Seine (further north) and Semur-en-Auxois, and became a sub-prefecture when they were abolished in 1926.

The Bishopric is at Dijon, which first became a see in 1731 when the diocese of Langres was divided.

This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s