Campobasso (Photo credit: paPisc)

Province in the southeast of central Italy, named from its capital, a city on a crossroads of routes across the Apennines, west of Foggia, north of Benevento and NNE of Naples.   In the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies, it had been the province of Molise, and when regions were created in 1948, it formed the southern province in the Abruzzo e Molise region.

That region had no effective institutions and was divided by a constitutional amendment of 1963, implemented in 1965, into two, the Campobasso province forming the new Molise autonomous region.   At the same time the new region was divided into the provinces of Campobasso and Isernia, Campobasso being the more eastern, the larger and the more populated.

This entry was posted in Italy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s