BRECONSHIRE     Brecknockshire; Sir Frycheiniog.

Brecon Beacons

Brecon Beacons (Photo credit: Joe Dunckley)

Welsh county formed in 1536 from the Marcher lordships of Builth in the north, Hay in the east, Blaenllyfni in the southeast, and Brecon.  On its abolition in 1975, most of the county became the district of Brecknock (abolished 1996) in the new county of Powys, whilst the southernmost districts were transferred to Mid-Glamorgan and Gwent.

So far as a couple of parishes were concerned there had long been a partial anticipation of the transfer.   Ystradfellte Upper and Lower were separated from most of Breconshire by the Brecon Beacons and at district level were administered by Neath Rural District Council from its formation in 1894.   The parishes had previously belonged to the same rural sanitary district as the lands that became the Neath R.D.

Breconshire was in the diocese of St David’s until the creation of the diocese of Swansea & Brecon in 1923, a few years after the disestablishment of the Church in Wales.

This entry was posted in Wales and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s