Department in the French Empire, 1810-13, joining the former Free Cities of Hamburg (the capital of the department) and Lübeck with former Hanoverian territory.   The territories were restored after the fall of Napoleon to their former owners, except for Lauenburg, which was held by the King of Denmark from 1816.

The name of the department, like that of Bouches-du-Weser, is a misnomer.   Both Elbe and Weser are estuaries but the departmental names are made to conform with Bouches-du-Rhône, a delta.

This entry was posted in Denmark, France, Germany and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s