Arles (Photo credit: Greg_e)

The Kingdom of BURGUNDY, which began in the Jura in 888, acquired Provence in 933 and became a part of the Holy Roman Empire in 1032, was also known as the Kingdom of ARLES or the Arelate, the Roman name for Arles.   After the acquisition of Provence, the Kings were crowned in Arles, which was the seat of an Archbishop and which stands on the River Rhône at the head of its delta.   By its last shadowy years, in the later middle ages, the Kingdom was generally known as Arles or the Arelate.   It existed then as a diplomatic bauble to be dangled before ambitious men, last of all for Charles the Rash, Duke of Burgundy.

This entry was posted in France and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s